Is oatmeal gluten-free?

0 Flares Pin It Share 0 Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×

Actually pure oat does not contain gluten. However most of the oatmeal which be sold in today’s markets are not pure oatmeal. If you have doubts about it, read this writing. 🙂 Let’s find out “ Is oatmeal gluten-free? ”

Oatmeal is a quality source of dietary fiber and beta-glucan. Besides that, oatmeal is rich in vitamins, minerals and anti-oxidants. So, oatmeal has a well-balanced nutrient composition. However, There is information pollution about oatmeal contains gluten or not! Don’t worry, we are aware of the importance of this issue and we are going to clarify this issue in this writing 🙂

Actually pure oat does not contain gluten. However most of the oatmeal which be sold in today’s markets are not pure oatmeal. While packaging of oatmeal cross contamination may be occurred from wheat barley or rye! So, you should check the package of the product. If there is no inscription about gluten-free on the package, it may contain gluten, be careful! Before consuming oatmeal check its package. Don’t assume the product is gluten-free unless you see the gluten-free inscription on it.

Is oatmeal gluten-free - package logo


Pure oats do not contain gluten, but it contains similar protein named avenin. Therefore, oatmeal is very important for enriching the nutritional value of gluten-free diet.

is-oatmeal-gluten-free-Pure oats

According to researches, majority of people who have gluten sensitivity and celiac disease, don’t have problem with consuming oatmeal. However some of these people may have problem when they eat oatmeal. The reason of that some people cannot tolerate avenin in oatmeal. If you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance you should be careful and check whether oatmeal disagree with you or not.is-oatmeal-gluten-free-celiac disease or gluten intolerance

Consult your doctor first if you are diagnosed with celiac disease or gluten intolerance before start to add your diet gluten-free oatmeal, then you should be very careful and start to eat it in small portion. If celiac disease’s symptoms come back, immediately stop eating gluten-free oatmeal.

is-oatmeal-gluten-free-celiac disease

[image_reference address="http://glutendude.com/celiac/celiac-disease-symptoms/"]

Is oatmeal gluten-free?

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

0 Flares Pin It Share 0 Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×